From the desk of a psychologist!

Hello everyone,

Finally I decided I need to voice myself out and reach to the audience I want to. I was thinking from quite some time of starting a blog and share my views (which sometimes are quite strong) to all and see whether it makes sense to others also or I am actually a one man army. Today the start of my blog has its own irony, it has come from a point of frustration, and in a sad way the funny part is this blog primarily is going to talk about ” How to deal with the negative emotions of life?”.But if I look from another perspective it actually worked positively in making me take the step I have deferred from some time.

So, now the million dollar question is” Who am I & What am I doing here?” I am a psychologist with a purpose. When I decided to study psychology, my family was not very happy with my decision. It was also due to the fact that the country I belong has majorly two respected professions, namely Medical & Engineering. I would say that in a way my folks were disappointed with my choice. At that age you actually doesn’t care much about the opinions of others, you’ve a fire inside you and you believe you can change the world. I was no different.

I started studying psychology with zeal and had an amazing time learning the science of behavior. I did my Masters in Clinical Psychology and then attained a certification from the Rehabilitation Council of India (RCI) for practicing Psychology. Yes, I finally became a psychologist but now how come nobody was taking me seriously? I started with a special school where I was supposed to just” take care” of the kids. The frustrations started building up; I had to do something else. I found a job in a renowned hospital as a consultant psychologist. This was the job I learned my basics of practical counseling. I also joined an addiction center and bingo, found the field I have a passion for.

But (here goes this word again) there were a lot of unanswered questions in my mind, this made me restless. I knew the answers I was getting were not enough. As they say, you need to find your own answers, so I packed my bags and landed in the hub of psychology. I enrolled in an addiction counseling course in WA State. What an enriching program!  It gave me a whole new perspective to deal with life and gifted me with positivism. For few years I also worked there but the need of doing something ” BIGGER”, made me return to my country.

I thought now nobody is going to ignore me, they would stop whatever they are doing and would take a note from me, commend me and will join me in my mission. BUT I was again not very right. I joined a school because I wanted to work with adolescents at the same time spread the awareness about substances. After working here for the past 4 years, I’ve started feeling that I am stuck with the nitty-gritty of school affairs and all my Big Dreams are gradually dying.

I AM A SURVIVOR. I am going to revive my dream of BRINGING A CHANGE. From today, I am going to use this powerful tool of the Web to reach to one and all. This is a blog which is going to be about Human Growth as an individual, relationshipsissuesdilemmas etc. Come, Join me and let’s LEARN from each other for a better tomorrow! Let’s Renew our Spirit 

:)

Comments on: "About Me, A Psychologist: An enriching Journey" (1)

  1. icanandiwill said:

    Mam best of luck on this venture of yours.Take my word ,you are definitely gonna rock.

    Disha

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

