From the desk of a psychologist!

There was this great man with a smile always on his face. Come any circumstance and this guy always dilute it with a smile. People were amazed as well intrigued by this man. They went after him for the GREAT SECRET OF HAPPINESS. This man gave them his secret.

” Every Morning, when I wake up, I have two choices in front of me: Either I can be happy or unhappy. I chose happiness.”

There goes the mantra:

Happiness is a choice which we make. The word sounds complicated and thanks to the sociologists & psychologists, it sure seems quite an unattainable thing. I would request you to do the exercise, get up in the morning and chose happiness. You’ll find your share of hurdles, deal with them as challenges coming between you and your choice. Trust me, you’ll find out what a simple way of life happiness is!

This topic came to my mind by a post started by a friend. She initiated a topic on how to uplift your mood and people from all over the world contributed in making it a list of some quick fixes.

https://plus.google.com/u/0/101432770709896418691/posts/HKZHfnXHTNL

Hats off in making the road much smoother to travel Tiffany.

I would love to hear from you’ll about the things which makes your choice of happiness easy 🙂

Comments on: "The simple choice of happiness" (28)

  1. shafaq said:

    Yes, i totally agree. We ourselves are the biggest hurdles standing in our way.

  2. unwrappingminds said:

    @Plantain : Thank you for the like. What makes you happy?

  3. Hello, I like your basic premise – that we have a choice. It is ALL about decisions – “I decide to change/alter my perceptions of what’s happening…”

    The full Serenity Prayer that millions of people daily say in 12 Step meetings around the world says: “God grant me the serenity to Accept the things that can not change, the Courage to change the things I can – and the Wisdom to know the difference.” (the key words are Accept, Courage and Wisdom)

    The second part of the Serenity Prayer (that isn’t usually said) is this: “Taking this world as it is, that I may be reasonably happy in this world – and supremely happy with Him in the next” is the key. I shoot for “reasonably happy” – it’s workable, realistic, down-to-earth, deeply “spiritual because it’s closer to Truth.

    Friend, Dennis

    http://creativebrainstorms.org

    • unwrappingminds said:

      Wow, Thank you so much Dennis for sharing the serenity prayer. I am also a firm believer of it. I was actually thinking of posting it in my blog, remembering it makes things simpler!

  4. Riaz Mohideen said:

    Happiness is no where, it is now here. It depends the person how he treats it. My theory is that treat them equally. Person who often wants happiness, they are in the state of psychopath. I don’t think it is possible to feel happy always.we have ups and downs in our life. But it differs each and every one’s perception based on their approach. Anyhow we won’t loose anything if we approach this world in a positive way… Why don’t we try it…Feel better and think better. Life will be always pleasant and blossoming garden….

    • unwrappingminds said:

      True, we can’t feel happiness 24X7 but a mindful effort from our end to make the choice over and over again will make it easier to be in a pleasurable state most of the time.

  5. Patrick Courtney said:

    What a great initial posting. You are correct that happiness is a choice I consciously make each morning. I find that when I do not take the time to consciously make that choice, I am open to be more greatly effected by the comings and goings of people and life situations I face that day. It is when the day begins happily that those outside elements/factors around me, do not have quite as deep or negative influence on my affect over the course of that day. All, and I truly mean all, things are manageable as I am in focus with the second half of the Prayer of Serenity. When I make that choice in the morning, I am also choosing to hand the day and myself to my Lord and follow the example he has left for me.

    • unwrappingminds said:

      Thank you Patrick for the lovely way you’ve put it…Comments like this make writing a blog worth it 🙂

  6. Happiness…..I think that the topic is certainly worthy of exploration.

    Whilst having positive feelings, experiencing authentic happiness and even states of bliss is wonderful, it may take work. Having a positive mindset may suffice for some people, simply reaffirming a commitment to choose happy. A prayer of mantra may also help. Surrounding yourself with positive people, friends, family, a group….. can be enormously helpful.

    Clinging to money, or being materialistic….some people believe that these lead to happiness. I believe that such materialism is over rated, ultimately unreliable as a form of happiness. Happiness is both a state of mind and a way of being.

    Experiencing barriers to happiness is part of the path of life, and not a sign of weakness.
    Importantly help is available.

    If you consistently feel depressed and believe that happiness is unattainable it may be wise to consult a GP or trained mental health professional.

    • unwrappingminds said:

      What a direction you gave to this topic Daniel. I would like to explore “the barriers to happiness and dealing with it” soon. Than you!

  7. […] The simple choice of happiness (unwrappingminds.wordpress.com) […]

  8. […] The simple choice of happiness (unwrappingminds.wordpress.com) […]

  9. … [Trackback]…

    […] There you will find 53584 more Infos: unwrappingminds.wordpress.com/2012/03/06/the-simple-choice-of-happiness/ […]…

  10. Hi, I do think this is a great website. I stumbledupon it 😉 I am going to revisit once again since I book-marked it. Money and freedom is the greatest way to change, may you be rich and continue to guide others.

  11. introvertedblogger said:

    I find the older I become the more I understand this. 🙂 thanks

  12. … [Trackback]…

    […] Find More Informations here: unwrappingminds.wordpress.com/2012/03/06/the-simple-choice-of-happiness/ […]…

  13. … [Trackback]…

    […] Read More here: unwrappingminds.wordpress.com/2012/03/06/the-simple-choice-of-happiness/ […]…

  14. … [Trackback]…

    […] Informations on that Topic: unwrappingminds.wordpress.com/2012/03/06/the-simple-choice-of-happiness/ […]…

  15. … [Trackback]…

    […] Informations on that Topic: unwrappingminds.wordpress.com/2012/03/06/the-simple-choice-of-happiness/ […]…

  16. … [Trackback]…

    […] There you will find 66554 more Infos: unwrappingminds.wordpress.com/2012/03/06/the-simple-choice-of-happiness/ […]…

  17. […] try to understand it by taking the feeling of happiness. I have taken this feeling because we all crave to achieve this state of […]

  18. … [Trackback]…

    […] Find More Informations here: unwrappingminds.wordpress.com/2012/03/06/the-simple-choice-of-happiness/ […]…

  19. […] is the main thing which comes between us and our happiness? What is it, which stops us from living our life to its […]

  20. […] Presenting my adaptation of happiness/unhappiness genes, which actually is a sequel of my earlier post; The simple choice of happiness! […]

  21. It’s truly a great and helpful piece of info. I’m satisfied that you just shared this useful information with
    us. Please stay us up to date like this. Thank you for sharing.

  22. […] Nota: La imagen mostrada, fue tomada del blog unwrappingminds. […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

